I’m an Improv Queen

I started my morning off with a yummy Green Monster with 1/2 a coop of chocolate protein powder, and then I hit the road for a morning run. The humidity has finally broken here, and outdoor activities can commence! My 5k is one week from today, and this was my first outdoor run in a week. Eek! 

 After my run, I had the grand plan to make a pancake with lots of oatmeal. It was an epic fail. However, I thought what I ended up making was delicious. In a bowl I combined 1/4 cup oatmeal, 1 egg, a mashed banana, 1/4 teaspoon baking powder, pinch of salt, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 tablespoon vanilla soy milk.  This was supposed to make two pretty pancakes. Upon attempting to flip the pancake, it completely fell apart. I threw in some sliced strawberries as well. I suppose you could add just about anything. I went with the flow and scrambled the whole mixture up (I wasn’t going to waste that food)! It was really good, and kind of like a scrambled oatmeal (which is what I’m calling it from now on). Yum. 

When it was still a pancake 

 

While I was seriously craving pancakes after my run, this turned out for the best. I now have a new breakfast! After an excruciatingly long shift at the mall (demon children, shoplifters, and destroyed stacks of sweaters) I was starving! Upon first glance in my refrigerator I had 1/2 a tomato, some spinach, ricotta cheese, and some cooked chicken. Italian for dinner! Sadly I didn’t have whole grain pasta (note to self, buy some at Trader’s!), but eating regular pasta never killed anyone. I don’t know if it’s because this was actually good, or if I was famished from working all day, but I inhaled this dinner. I then proceeded to fall into a food coma and watch An Education. 

 

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

