Madison Mini-Marathon 5k

Today was the big day! Getting up that early was a struggle, but my adrenaline kept me going. I started with a delicious Green Monster, and a peanut butter sandwich on whole wheat per my friend Lauren’s suggestion. It was a great pre-race meal.

It took awhile to park when we got to campus, and that’s when I started to get nervous. There were so many people, and I started to psych myself out a little bit. However, I went and lined up, turned up the volume on my ipod, and jumped around a little bit. When the race started, all my nerves were gone and I just concentrated on putting one foot in front of the other!

I wish I could have taken pictures along the way.  A good portion of the race was on the trail along Lake Mendota. It was a foggy morning on the lake, but still really pretty. We also ran by the boathouse. When I came around Union Theatre, I knew it was the time to speed up and give it my all for those last few moments. I had no fuel left. The humidity had really kicked my butt. Regardless, I am very happy with my time (36:04!!!) and I even high-fived Olympic Gold Medalist Casey Fitzrandolph!

So many post-race snacks!

Sassy Cow Creamery chocolate milk! My fave!

Bud Light. Gross x 2.

Free massage. ‘Nuff said.

I finished my great day with french toast from Sunroom Cafe. Yum!

My lower legs are little achey right now, but that’s to be expected (right?). Oh and my next race is the Zoo Run September 26th! Can’t wait!


About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Madison Mini-Marathon 5k

  1. Kaitlin says:

    I wish I would’ve gotten a massage! I kept thinking I saw you, but the girl I kept seeing didn’t have a name on her bib, so I wasn’t sure!

Leave a Reply

