De-stressing With Oatmeal Bars

I was at a project management conference all day today. Total snooze-fest! I packed a little lunch to take with me (cliff bar, some fruit, mixed nuts), but of course I forgot it at home. While there are lots of options on the Square, I wanted something fast, cheap, and healthy. I went to a food cart I had heard good things about, but I was very disappointed. I ordered their California turkey sandwich. It came with cheddar cheese, avocado, sun-dried tomatoes, cucumbers, and onion. All these great fillings and I thought the sandwich was bland. If it hadn’t been $7, I would have thrown it away and bought something else, but this girl is trying to be frugal!

All afternoon all I could think about was baking! I remembered seeing oatmeal bars on Carrots ‘N’ Cake, and I love oatmeal in just about every form. Very simple recipe, and they hit the spot. These are going to be a good mid-morning snack at my desk this week.

Ingredients:

  • 2 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 C canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 C craisins (the original recipe calls for raisins, but I was in the mood for something a bit tart)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, mix all the ingredients in a bowl, spread batter into a greased 8×8 pan, and bake for 25-30 minutes. Let cool before cutting. I don’t know if it can be much easier than that! Now I think it’s time for me to sip some tea and enjoy one of these.



About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

