What a weekend!

This was such a crazy weekend! It was jam-packed and it flew by! I started my weekend off with some toast with cashew butter, banana, and sliced figs. I mixed some acai berry whey from Tera’s Whey into my green monster. It was a little too sweet.

I was so excited to drive down to my parents’ for the weekend to celebrate my dad’s 55th birthday! There was also a corn boil going on to raise money for a nearby town’s fire department. Abs and I took Grandma. The sweet corn was delicious and covered in butter! After getting our sweet corn fix we headed over to the Dairy Ripple. When we were kids we used to ride our bikes there to get ice cream. I love going back when I’m home.

Sprinkle cone! Sprinkles are Abby’s favorite condiment!

This was a SMALL cookie dough flurry!

Saturday was a long day. Work, driving, corn boil, out for ice cream, and then I went on a 3 mile run. I relaxed with sangria and Texas caviar. Making sangria is so easy, and on a hot day it’s great! In a pitcher, mix together two sliced oranges, one sliced lemon, and 1/4 cup of sugar. Any other fruit you think would sound good, throw it in at this point. Pour two bottles of Merlot over the fruit, stir, and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. When you are ready to drink it, in the pitcher or just in your glass, add ginger ale or seltzer to the wine.

I may or may not have overdosed on Texas caviar. It’s so addictive! Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1 can pinto beans, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos, drained
  • 2 cans of corn, drained
  • 1 can green chiles, undrained
  • 1 diced jalapeno
  • 1 diced medium red onion
  • 1 diced bell pepper, any color
  • 6 T red wine vinegar
  • 6 T olive oil
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 1/2 t garlic powder

Mix everything together in a large bowl and refrigerate for two hours or longer. Serve with tortilla chips. It’s addictive…be careful!


About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

