Then You Stir. And Stir Some More.

”Risotto,” Jamie Oliver said. ”It’s not hard. It takes a bit of time and a bit of love. In life, you can’t have everything in one basket.”

For the past week, I’ve been seriously craving risotto. Maybe it was Julie and Leanne’s recent posts, or maybe my love of creamy delicious carbs? Probably both. At Trader Joe’s last night, I finally remembered how much I wanted risotto before I left (why is it I always remember what I need at the store when I get home? I need to make lists more often). I knew I had a zucchini hanging out in my veggie bin at home so I picked up a summer squash to go with it. It might require some patience (don’t make it when you are in a hurry) and some serious stirring, but it is well worth it. Here’s the deliciousness I created for dinner tonight:

  • 4 C water
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • 1 C arborio rice
  • 1/2 C dry white wine
  • 1 medium zucchini, grated
  • 1 medium summer squash, grated
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 T fresh lemon juice
  • freshly grated parmesan (I used about 1/2 a cup)
  • salt to taste

Bring water to boil in kettle or sauce pan. In a medium-sized sauce pan over medium-low heat, heat oil and cook shallots until tender. Turn the heat up to medium-high, add the rice, and stir constantly for 2-4 minutes. The grains should be mostly translucent at this point. Pour in win and stir constantly until absorbed.

Add 2 cups of the boiling water and the salt. Keep stirring occasionally until the water is absorbed. Add a 1/2 cup of water at a time to keep the rice lubricated. After 15 minutes, stir in the squash and zucchini. Continue cooking ,stirring constantly, and adding the water 1/2 a cup at a time so that the rice doesn’t stick. Taste the risotto every couple of minutes. When it is almost tender, turn off the heat.

Stir in the butter and most of the cheese (save a little for serving). Stir in the lemon juice as well. Cover and let it rest for 5 minutes. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil and the rest of the cheese.

So much zucchini and squash. I actually have a little left over that I need to figure out what to do with…suggestions?

Oh hello creamy risotto. I’ve been stirring for 30 minutes just waiting for you!

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Then You Stir. And Stir Some More.

  1. DROOLING! Laura and I made zucchini and feta risotto (straight from Greece) while studying abroad and your recipe takes me back. YUM YUM YUM!

  2. Ooo…ooo. Did you see Brandi’s recipe for risotto leftovers??? I saw it the day after eating the last of my risotto.

    http://branappetit.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/scratch-made-sweet-corn-risotto-baked-arancini/

    I can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

