Pumpkin Butter and Road Trips

Today is my rest day. Oh boy do I need it! I pushed myself to the max in yoga yesterday, and going for a run less than an hour later really put my body to the test. My legs are not happy with me today! For breakfast this morning I made myself a green monster, whipped banana oatmeal, and toast with homemade pumpkin butter. Yes, homemade pumpkin butter. I also happened to make it last night before going to bed in LESS than 10 minutes. How did people live without microwaves way back in the day?

To make your own delicious pumpkin butter you will need:

  • 1/4 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1/2 t allspice
  • 1/4 t ginger
  • 1/4 t cloves
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 15 ounce can of pumpkin puree

Combine everything but the pumpkin in a microwave-safe bowl, and microwave for 3 minutes. Remove from microwave and stir well. Stir in pumpkin and microwave for 5 minutes. Carefully remove, stir, and let cool. Your kitchen (if not your whole house/apartment) will now smell like fall. There’s a good chance I won’t be buying jars of pumpkin butter at Trader Joe’s this fall!


This week is going to be pure stress. Today after lunch, I’m hopping in the car and heading to Minneapolis (5 hours away) for a forecasting conference. Tuesday night I’ll head back to Madison only to be in Milwaukee Wednesday and Thursday for another conference. I love travelling for work because it keeps me out of my office and away from the phone, conference calls, and writing my very boring memos and reports. The one thing I do hate about travelling is that it turns my eating and fitness upside-down. I tried to prepare well for this week, and I made sure that my hotel in Minnesota has a good fitness center. I also picked up some snacks today so that I don’t get stuck eating junk food on the road. Hopefully planning ahead will pay off!

Do you ever have to travel for your job? If so, how do you prepare so that your healthy lifestyle stays in check?

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Butter and Road Trips

  1. Marcia (Marcha) says:

    I’m gunna try the pumpkin butter! Sounds good!

  2. Nic says:

    Good call on the pumpkin butter! I’ve never had it but, I think I’ll whip up a batch this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

