Healthy Living on the Road

In the past, I’ve been very bad when I travel. I would eat whatever I want, order pizza and snack for room service late at night, skip out on my workouts, and guzzle down drinks in the hotel bar. Those days are behind me. I prepared well, bought some great snacks at Trader’s, and packed a workout bag. My business travel essentials:

  • A hotel with a fitness center! Most have them, but make sure. Knowing there was a treadmill near my room made it hard to resist getting a quick run in.
  • Bring food with you. I brought a couple bananas, trail mix, and some great bars. Instead of grabbing the phone and ordering that late night pizza or hitting up the vending machine down the hall, I’m grabbing a handful of trail mix and having some fruit. Guilt free.
  • Just because you feel like you are on vacation, does not mean your healthy diet goes on vacation too. A little splurging is ok, but throwing all caution to the wind only means your jeans will be a little tighter when you get home. I’d rather not suffer next week at the gym just so I can eat my heart out now.
  • Keep a bottle of water with you! This is a little harder if you are flying (thanks a lot terrorism), but you can always find a way to grab some water. A lot of times when we travel we don’t want to have to use public restrooms or take bathroom breaks on a long drive, but getting dehydrated is going to suck. It messes with your digestive system, your skin, and your workouts. I didn’t drink nearly as much water as I should have yesterday (bad Jess), and I paid for it last night with an awful headache. Booo.

The drive went much quicker than I anticipated. Those five hours flew by! We are staying in a really nice hotel, and I have my own family suite. It has bunk beds in it! Ha! I never stayed in hotel rooms this cool when I was a kid. As soon as we made it Minnesota we went to dinner at PF Changs. I shared steamed pork potstickers for an appetizer (I forgot to take a picture), and had the chicken lettuce wraps and garlic snap peas for my entree. Their lettuce wraps are my favorite, and I’m constantly craving them.

After dinner I was blindsided by an awful headache, but headed to the fitness center anyways. Today is technically a rest day for me, but after sitting in a car for five hours, I had to get my legs moving. I ran a little over 2.5 miles while watching The Big Bang Theory (love that show). I was a little surprised I was the only one in there working out! Another perk to hotels – ice machines! I iced my shins and relaxed in a plush king size bed. Ah the life of a business traveler!

Meet Dog and Blanket. They go with me everywhere.

The kiddie room had a Harry Potter picture and a Playstation. Ballerrrr!

My snacks conquered the pizza and the ice conquered my leg pain!

My delicious breakfast this morning in the hotel restaurant.



About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healthy Living on the Road

  1. Ilisa says:

    Staying healthy on the road is important. Especially if you are traveling a lot. Thanks for your tips! A new resource that I discovered for staying healthy while traveling is: http://www.thehealthyroadwarrior.com. They offer tips and information on eating healthy on the road, workouts, flying, getting enough sleep, managing stress and more. I love the info they give! You should check it out!

  2. Kaitlin says:

    I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who still has stuffed animals 🙂

Leave a Reply

