It’s a great day for football, and running, and farmer’s markets

We had one heck of storm last night. Ping pong ball sized hail and all! It kept me up for about an hour so my morning run had to get pushed back so I could get some extra sleep. Abs and I had a quick breakfast and headed out the door to the farmer’s market! I actually like the farmer’s market more in the fall with the cool weather, wearing a hoodie, sipping on a cafe au lait, and checking out all the beautiful fall produce. Is it just me or is fall produce much more beautiful than summer produce? I love the colors and textures in the fall so much more.  I kept my purchases small this week and bought an organic eggplant, organic butternut squash, and two purple bell peppers (not sure if they are organic). Abby and I resisted the urge to have the amazing Stella’s spicy cheese bread. We always feel bad afterwards.

Breakfast and Abby’s first Starbucks’ pumpkin spice latte of the season

I thought these peppers were so pretty. I hope they are there next week too!

I showed restraint and just came home with this. This was $6 and I will easily make several meals out of with ingredients I already have in my pantry. That eggplant is going to make a tasty eggplant parm for Absy and myself this week. I can’t decide what to do with my squash and peppers yet, but I know it will be delicious.

This weekend is another home BADGER game! Of course, I am working at the mall and missing the game, but I got in on the tailgate action. Living so close to Camp Randall means my runs go right through all the tailgating. It was actually really fun to run around the stadium, past a lot of the bars, and through the crowds. On Wisconsin! A lot of people thought I was crazy, but it made me run faster and made a great distraction when my body started to tire. I ran my fasted 5k yet – 30:25! Woohoo! Let’s see if I can do that next Sunday at the Zoo Run Run! My body wasn’t too happy with me running fast. Maybe I started out too fast, but the last few tenths my body was really hurting. I need to work on my endurance. I also need to call up Dr. Ali (my roommate in college is a D.PT) and figure out why my ankle is hurting. It might be time for a brace. (Sigh).

Now I’m going to recoup with a green monster and a big salad.

Mixed lettuce, chopped tomato, tuna, Trader’s chopped veggie mix (red cabbage, green cabbage, green pepper, jicama, carrots, radishes, broccoli, and celery) with Goddess dressing. It was supposed to also have a hard-boiled egg on top, but I didn’t boil it long enough. 😦

LET’S GO BADGERS!

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s a great day for football, and running, and farmer’s markets

  1. Nic says:

    I live in MN and I love watching the farmers markets go from spring to summer to fall veggies. Looks like you picked up some good eats!

Leave a Reply

