Whole-Wheat Brownies

The paperwork is signed and I will be starting my new part-time job in less than two weeks! I feel so fortunate to get to work for such a great company, and I can’t wait to start. After a quick trip to the store to pick up more forgotten items (I can’t decide if I am forgetful or just like grocery shopping), I got in a quick cardio session. Because I had a burrito for lunch, I decided to have soup for dinner. I’m glad it’s fall because I love soup!

Black bean soup with avocado and toast

After dinner it was time to get down to business. My apartment needed some serious cleaning, my laundry basket was (er is still) overflowing, I needed to finish preparing for my presentation tomorrow, and I had brownies to bake!

Whole-Wheat Brownies:

  • 3/4 a stick of melted butter
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/3 C cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1 t coarse salt
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1 C packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 C chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and line with parchment paper an 8×8 pan. In a bowl, whisk together the flours, cocoa, baking powder, salt, and baking soda. Set aside. In a large bowl, mix together the brown sugar, applesauce, and egg. Using a double boiler (or a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water), mix together the melted butter and chocolate until chocolate is melted and smooth. Pour the chocolate into the sugar mixture. Lastly, stir in the flour mixture. Pour into the pan and bake for 40 minutes. Let cool in pan completely before removing.

I think these are going to be the perfect treat for the first day of the new partner at my office.


Now I’m off to get ready for bed. 6 am yoga will be here before I know it!

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole-Wheat Brownies

  1. Scootabaker says:

    brownies gone healthy?? who knew!

Leave a Reply

