Premiere Week Pasta

I contemplated going to the gym today since I skipped out on yoga this morning. I really did think about it, and then I stood up. My legs are tired! I decided to do a fitness dvd at home instead. I love Jackie Warner’s dvds. My favorite is her circuit training dvd because you can pick different 15 minute circuits. Tonight I opted to do the arms circuit for two reasons: my legs are exhausted and I hate doing abs. There I said it. I hate doing sit-up, crunches, and just about any other ab workout. I know that I should do them, and my abs need work, but I avoid it. Unless I have a fitness instructor or trainer forcing me to do abs, there is a good chance I don’t. Once in awhile I will do a few crunches. Bad Jess.

My little workout worked up a hunger. While I made dinner I snacked on this stuff

I put my butternut squash from the farmer’s market to good use tonight.

  • 1 lb. whole wheat penne
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 4 T unsalted butter
  • 1/2 C coarsely chopped pecans
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • 1/2 C grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 C ricotta cheese

Steam the squash until you can easily pierce it with a knife. In a skillet over medium heat, cook butter, stirring, until melted and just beginning to brown ( about 5 minutes). Add pecans and cook, stirring, until lightly toasted. Add squash and stir gently to combine; season with salt and pepper. Cook pasta and drain. Return pasta to the saucepan and toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper. In bowls top the pasta with the squash, parmesan, and ricotta.

I used sweet and spicy pecans instead of plain. They were more spicy than sweet, but it went well with the ricotta.

I don’t know if excited accurately describes how I’m feeling about the Grey’s premiere tonight. If TV premiere week has taught us anything, it is that I watch far too much TV.

My adorable new shuffle (Thanks Absy! Love you!)

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Premiere Week Pasta

  1. Nic says:

    Have you watched Jackie’s new show? It’s pretty entertaining and motivating!

    • Jessica says:

      I had planned on watching it, but then I got busy and now it’s what 4 episodes in? Hopefully I stumble upon a Bravo marathon of it. I love Jackie Warner.

Leave a Reply

