Emotional Baking

I’m having some serious doubts about my ability to train for a 10k this fall. The race is one month away, and I’m having shin splints and a weird cramping pain in my right ankle. Shin splints I’ve had and I know how to deal with them, but my ankle is really worrying me. Other than sprains in the past, I’ve never had ankle problems.  I seriously do not know what to do. No I know that I should take a break from running, but then that means I most likely won’t run the race. Not running the race already makes me sad. All of this really has me down so I did the most logical thing and emotionally baked. I guess that’s better than emotionally eating.

Sweet Potato Bread:

Adapted from Sara’s Secrets

  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/3 C water
  • 1/3 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 T baking soda
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t baking powder

Combine the first 5 ingredients in a bowl. When well mixed, stir in the dry ingredients. Pour batter into a greased loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Cool in pan until room temperature.

Some great mix-ins to this bread would be nuts, cranberries, orange zest, chocolate chips, or dried fruit.

When you are having a bad day, do you have any stress relievers? Right now mine is baking, sometime running, usually yoga.

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emotional Baking

  1. Nic says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your ankle! If you have a gym membership maybe you should elliptical for a week to keep your endurance up and see of things heal up with your ankle and if they do, you really haven’t lost that much training. If it doesn’t feel better, there is always next year, you have the drive and determination I have no doubt that you’ll be able to complete it!

Leave a Reply

