Pumpkin Scones and Home

I’m continuing my love for pumpkin with pumpkin scones. I used to love the pumpkin scones at Starbucks, but then I found out they have like 600 calories. I’d rather eat more than a scone for 600 calories! Abby things my scones are better than Starbucks!

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 7 T sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 t ground cloves
  • 1/4 t ground ginger
  • 6 t cold butter (cubed)
  • 1/2 C pumpkin puree
  • 3 T skim milk
  • 1 egg

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices in a large bowl. Using a pastry knife, fork, or food processor, cut butter into the dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly and no chunks of butter are obvious. Set aside. In a separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, milk, and egg. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Form the dough into a ball. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and roll it out into a 1-inch thick rectangle (about 9 inches long and 3 inches wide). Use a large knife or a pizza cutter to slice the dough in half width and lengthwise, making four equal portions. Cut the four slices diagonally so that you have 8 triangular slices of dough. Place on oiled or parchment covered baking sheet. Bake 14-16 minutes until scones are lightly browned. When cooled, drizzle with a powdered sugar glaze.

I spent most of today at my parents’ house doing laundry and raiding their kitchen. I don’t raid it for food though…I’m looking for soup cups, miscellaneous spoons and serving utensils, and other odds and ends I don’t think they’ll notice. 🙂  I wish they wouldn’t notice a missing french press!

For dinner we went to our favorite Mexican restaurant, Fiesta Cancun. My favorite entrée there is the nachos. The platter is huge, and I never finish them, but they are so good. I think I ate enough food to last me the rest of the weekend!

Abby and I also spent some time with our grandma. She cracks me up. I don’t think she means to be funny, but she is. I really need to spend more time with her.

Grandma and me March 2008 hanging on the couch watching tv. Do you like our matching fleeces?

For some reason I keep thinking it’s Sunday night. It makes realizing that it actually Saturday a good surprise!

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Scones and Home

  1. Don’t know how Starbucks manage to pack so many calories into all their food. These look great!

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks! I think they over ice their baked goods. There is always globs of glaze on frosting on everything. The scones taste as good as they look!

Leave a comment