Grilled Cheese Hawaiian Style

This past Spring, Abby and I attended an awesome grilled cheese party. It was put on by the Milk Marketing Board, and I had won tickets on Twitter. We ate so many delicious grilled cheeses that night, but one that really stuck with us was the Lil’ Kahuna. It was on Hawaiian sweet bread and had ham, peppers, onions, pineapple, and pepper jack cheese. We finally got around to making it tonight, but I simplified the recipe a bit. Here’s what you will need:

  • 1 can of pineapple rings in juice
  • sliced pepper jack cheese
  • sliced ham
  • sandwich bread
  • butter or margarine

I layered in this order: bread, cheese, ham, pineapple, cheese, bread. I cooked it on my panini press for about 10 minutes on medium heat. This sandwich is entering our regular meal rotation. Just as good as we remembered!

The sign of a perfectly grilled sandwich – cheese oozing out. Heaven.

Of course, a Sunday dinner requires a Sunday dessert. I had leftover pumpkin puree in the fridge that needed to be used up ASAP so I made pumpkin milkshakes.

  • 1/2 C pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 C vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt
  • 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 C milk of your choice (I used vanilla almond milk)

Mix in a blender and serve with whipped cream. Dairy Queen can keep their pumpkin pie blizzards.

I think it’s time for my weekly dose of the Kardashians. The weekend is almost over, and I am already getting excited for this week and setting some short-term goals.

What are you looking forward to this week?

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grilled Cheese Hawaiian Style

  1. Kaitlin says:

    Yum! I need to make those pumpkin milkshakes.

  2. Allison says:

    I’m about to make the Pumpkin Milkshake.. Shaking with excitement!

  3. Allison says:

    ok it was/is delish! had a hard time in the beginning as it was too sourish but added some sugar and now it’s great!

Leave a Reply

