Oh Grilled Cheesus

It’s already Thursday? Where did this week go?!?! For breakfast this morning I had a slice of pumpkin oatmeal bread with cinnamon cream cheese and a small bowl of yogurt with a sprinkle of granola. I made the bread last night, and it is a dense dough so it totally worked my arms while I stirred it.

Pumpkin Oat Bread:

  • 1/3 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 C brown sugar
  • 1/3 C molasses
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 t pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 1/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 C rolled oats

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and a lightly grease a loaf pan. Stir together the applesauce, eggs, and pumpkin in a large bowl. Stir in the brown sugar, molasses, baking powder and soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice. Mix well and then stir the flours and oats. Pour batter into loaf pan and sprinkle with oats. Press the oats into the batter. Bake 40-50 minutes. Allow to cool completely in the pan.

For the cinnamon cream cheese: with the whisk attachment on your mixer, combine one block of light or low-fat cream cheese (softened) with cinnamon to taste (I used about a tablespoon).

For lunch I made myself a ham and pepper jack GRILLED CHEESUS. Yeah, I still have Glee on the brain. I picked up some plain hummus last night which I have been craving for a week but kept forgetting to buy. I also bought pears last night which was odd. You see, I don’t like pears, but I was craving them. I guess I actually like pears, but have a negative reaction towards them because of too many canned pear confrontations in elementary school…maybe?

I was contemplating another sweaty yoga session or a good hour at the gym tonight after work, but my legs and shoulders are unbelievably sore. The yoga class I went to at lunch yesterday might not have been enjoyable, but it was apparently a good workout!  I think tonight will be a good night for a little grocery shopping, some stretching at home, oh yeah and GREY’S!

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Grilled Cheesus

  1. amelia a. nus says:

    The “grilled cheesus” w/ side pear reminds me of my favorite panini from Twisted Fork (Milwaukee, WI-holla!). I actually have been craving it ever since receiving a panini maker at a bridal shower (didn’t register for it—but, totally keeping it!). The panini has chicken (lean protein), brie (check Trader Joe’s for their light brie), pear slices, and some craisins. You could really even put it on the pumpkin loaf or just some good whole grain bread. Mmm. Your blog is making my stomach growl….

    • Jessica says:

      OMG I’m so making that panini! That sounds delicious. Panini makers are the best, even if you are only making a grilled cheesus. I’m starving right now, and I’m about to go stuff my face.

Leave a Reply

