Sweet Potato Stew

Wow so this is my 99th post! In honor of my 100th post tomorrow, I’m going to do a giveaway! I will randomly choose one comment from my 100th post to win my favorite sugar cookies. These sugar cookies are pretty fabulous and slightly addicting. You could be the lucky winner!!

So I decided to actually listen to my sore legs and achey shoulders and skip out on both yoga and the gym. I was only going to do one or the other, but decided my legs just needed a break. Walking the aisles of Whole Paycheck would be workout enough. After picking up some goodies, I headed home to make sweet potato and lentil stew. I adapted the recipe from the one in Alicia Silverstone’s cookbook, The Kind Diet.

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1/4 t ground ginger
  • 1/2 t ground cumin
  • 1/2 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t cayenne
  • dash of sea salt
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 32 oz. can of vegetable broth
  • 1 C lentils

Heat oil in a large and deep saucepan. Add onion and cook for about a minute. Stir in spices and salt. Pour in vegetable broth, and give it a taste. Add more of seasonings to your own taste (I went a little heavy on the cinnamon and cumin). Add sweet potatoes and lentils. I purchased fully cooked lentils so I didn’t add them until the end. Bring to a boil, turn down heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes (or until sweet potatoes are soft). If you use cooked lentils like I did, stir them in when there is about 5 minutes left. Serve over brown rice or couscous. Makes two generous servings.

All I can say is YUM. I can’t wait to dig into the leftovers!

Dessert was a giant slice of pumpkin oatmeal bread with cinnamon cream cheese.

I’m so excited for this weekend – Badger game, my 100th post, pay day, finishing my training at T9, Jane Lynch on SNL, and maybe even get a run in!

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Potato Stew

  1. amelia a. nus says:

    wow. that stew looks really, really healthy and delicious. I need to make that too. Omg. I have so much grocery shopping to do…lol

Leave a Reply

