For the Love of Chocolate

Happy 100th post to me!!! I can’t believe I have written 100 posts already! In the amount of time I’ve spent writing these 100 posts, I’ve made some great Blends (blog friends), received awesome comments from friends and readers, and even had a sponsored giveaway. To celebrate my 100th post, I have decided to have another giveaway. Comment on this post by Sunday 10/10 at 6pm CST. All of you have shown me so much love so I’d like to give a little love back the best way I know how – baking! I will send one randomly chosen comment my favorite sugar cookies!

I like chocolate. I’m not sure I love it. My mom was allergic to chocolate when she was a kid so she doesn’t each that much of it. Growing up I didn’t have lots of chocolate around so I’m by no means a “chocoholic.” However, lately I’ve been craving chocolate. A LOT.

Chocolate Tortilla Chips

I think these would be good with my pumpkin Chobani dip!

Chocolate Covered Caramels

Even my calcium supplements are chocolate!

Brownies

Not just any brownies…sweet potato brownies! I think the original recipe is from Martha Stewart, but I had it written down on scratch paper in my planner. I guess I’ll need to do a little searching to figure out where I found it.

Sweet Potato Brownies:

  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 2/3 C cocoa powder
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 C sugar
  • 2/3 C sweet potato puree
  • 1  egg
  • 1 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/4 t instant coffee

Preheat the over to 350 degrees and grease an 8×8 pan. Melt the butter in a microwave safe bowl, and then stir in the cocoa powder. Set aside. In another bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir in the sugar, egg, and sweet potato puree. In a small bowl mix together the vanilla and instant coffee until the coffee is dissolved. Stir this into the cocoa mixture. Mix the cocoa mixture into the flour mixture. Pour into pan and bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool completely before cutting.

Make sure you have pastry flour and not just whole wheat flour

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For the Love of Chocolate

  1. Emily R says:

    I don’t know what it means to not crave chocolate…. Your blog is great!!

  2. Jackie says:

    Those sound delicious those brownies, I have just discovered the goodness of sweet potatoes since I’ve been pack and was looking for something to do while I am looking for a job! miss you lots Jess and glad to hear you are exercising and feel great about yourself, and thanks for thinking about it in a healthly way as in moderation! Miss you and lets do a phone chat this weekend, will call you!

    • Jessica says:

      Jackie – check out the sweet potato stew in my post from last night. Also, I plan on having many more sweet potato posts! 🙂

  3. Jordan P says:

    Congratulations on 100 posts!!

    I’ve never even heard of chocolate tortilla chips, but they sound delish.

  4. amelia a. nus says:

    Jess,
    I’m SO making those brownies ASAP. Love the blog, lady! Congrats on 100 posts!! I have to go back and read some I missed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

