Butter Makes Everything Better

It’s my birthday so I can eat a giant bowl of Cheerios for breakfast AND eat cookies covered in icing all before 8 am.

I don’t really feel like today is my birthday, and I don’t mean that in a bad way at all. Maybe when I do my birthday dinner with my family tomorrow, it will sink in that I am 25. Whoa.  That sounds scary because it sounds old and I feel like I’m still 21. That was a good birthday. Let’s pretend I’m 21 again. I’ll see you all at Caffery’s. I’ll be the girl doing shots at the bar with the bartenders. Ha! I am a little sad that I’m turning 25. On a serious note, since 25 is a milestone age (well I think it is), I ‘ve decided to do a little long-term goal setting. I decided that these are some the things I would like to achieve by 30:

  1. Be a certified vinyasa yoga instructor and teaching yoga
  2. Have at least half of my student loan debt paid off
  3. Run a marathon

There are a couple of other goals I have for the next five years, but I don’t necessarily want to share them on internet.

Last night, I baked cookies to bring into work for my birthday. I had  stumbled upon this recipe the other day on Peanut Butter Fingers and knew I had to make them! One box of spice cake mix and one can of pumpkin. Mix, spoon onto a baking sheet, and bake for 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees. I love simple recipes! I decided to ice them with a brown butter icing.

Icing Recipe:

  • 4 C powdered sugar
  • 10 T butter
  • 1/4 C evaporate milk
  • 1 t vanilla

Melt the butter in a saucepan, and keep stirring for about three minutes allowing the butter to brown. Watch it carefully because browned butter tastes infinitely better than burned butter.  Pour the butter into a bowl with the powdered sugar and make sure you scrape the brown bits out of the pan. Stir in the evaporated milk and vanilla. If the icing is too thick, add more evaporated milk (a little at a time). If you like your icing thicker, add more powdered sugar.

The only two things you need: pumpkin puree and spice cake mix!

This requires the real stuff. No fake butter here.

 All those browned bits of butter are what make the icing so tasty

 

Seriously, when you are stressed out just make this icing and eat it out of the bowl (I did). Butter makes everything better. Oh and bacon. Maybe next time I’ll just put bacon in it. 🙂

About Jessica

Hummus eating, latte drinking, yoga obsessed runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

